Cabin Fever at Plymouth Speedway Brings over 140 Race Cars to Track

Saturday was the annual Cabin Fever show at Plymouth Speedway. Over 140 cars showed up to cure a case of Cabin Fever and race at the fabled dirt track. 
With that many entries several of the classes ran two B-main features making it a full night of racing across the five classes.
Modifieds were one of those classes that ran two B-mains. Five heats of eight and nine cars kicked off the night for the Modifieds. Picking up heat wins included Cameron Head, Frank Marshall, Curt Spalding, Jamie Lomax and Derek Losh. Drivers that advanced out of the B-Mains included the two winners of Nick Allen and Chad Roush. 
20 Mods took the green flag for the A-main with Tim Walter and Derek Losh starting on the front row. Neither of those would be around for the finish as Jamie Lomax would take the checkers from his 3rd starting position and Frank Marshall and Zeke McKenzie would round out the podium.
Street Stocks were the other class to race 2 B-mains to fill the field for their 20 car feature. Four, nine car, heats started the racing action for the Street Stocks. Heat winners were Shane Sanders from the pole of heat one, Jesse Simmons, Preston Oberle and Lee Hall. 
The two B-main winners were Kevin Kerlin and Jason Fuller. 
Lee Hall would go on to win the A with Oberle second and hard charger Craig Anstead finished third after starting 12th.
The 600s would advance 5 out of each of the 4 heats and an additional 5 out of a B-main to make up the 25 starters in the A on the reconfigured smaller track. The track for the 600s has been stretched out to give longer straight aways to open more opportunities for passing. The four heats would see some familiar names advancing onto the A-main with AJ Cooley, David Conley Sr., Trey Paseka and Dylan Wooding picking up the heat wins.
The B-main advanced five with Zachary Clark, Abby Hohlbein, Seth Whitaker, Glen Coe and Tanner Swihart.
Brenton Lamb would start on the pole in the A-Feature with Chad Hartzell sharing the front row. Dylan Woodling would pass a couple to take the checkers from his 3rd starting position. AJ Cooley and Hartzell would finish right behind in 2nd and 3rd. Justin Harper was the big mover of the race coming home 6th after a 15th place start.
Super Sports would also require a B-main to fill the field for the A-feature of 20 cars with 10 taking the green in the B.
Shaun Wiltjer won the A-main with a front row start along side pole winner Chris Tippit, who would finish third. Matt Hammond started fifth and finished second. Troy Clark won the B-main and finished 10th in the main. Heat winners in the Super Sport class were Joe Spiewak, Hammond and Adam Williams.
The Winged Crate Sprints featured a first time feature winner in sprint cars. Kyle Gunkel did double duty racing in the 600s and starting in the sprints for the first time and picking up the feature win. Eli Lakin secured a heat win and finished second in the feature. Jack James finished in the third spot of the feature after starting third.
Regular Saturday night racing returns to Plymouth Speedway this week, May 11 with UMP Modifieds returning with CSR-Sprints, Non-wing 600s and Thunder Stocks.
Gates will open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 6 p.m. and racing starting at 7 p.m. Admission is $13 for adults, children 6 to 12 just $5 and all race fans 5 and younger are free.


Photo by David Bisbee
Top three finishers in the UMP Modified at Cabin Fever are left to right Jamie Lomax, Frank Marshall and Zeke McKenzie. UMP Modifieds return to Plymouth Speedway Saturday, May 11 for another exciting evening of racing action.


Apheus Web Design